John Ruskin, Casa D’Oro


John Ruskin, Casa D?Oro



Named after the gilding that originally adorned its ornate carvings, the Casa d’Oro was constructed from 1420 to 1434. In the ‘Venetian Index’ featured in John Ruskin’s book ‘The Stones of Venice’ (1853), it is characterized as an impressive structure with charming Gothic elements, formerly splendid in its overall appearance, but now marred by subsequent restoration efforts.

The Ruskin – Library, Museum and Research Centre

This card is 5 x 7 inches

Brantwood is an independent registered charity - The Brantwood Trust Coniston Cumbria LA21 8AD Telephone: 015394 41396